LeaderShop
Title Index
A-K  L-Z

. Search Books . Bestsellers . What's New . LeaderShop
Main Page
. Help . View Cart

BookInfo
 Description and Reviews
 Read an Excerpt
 Reader's Index
 About the Author
 Table of Contents
 Customer Reviews
 Find Similar Items


.
See Also:
. Business



leadership books leadership books leadership books

leadership books
Secure Online Ordering Guaranteed!

 

 

connections

Visit theauthor's website.

A Whole New Mind: Moving from the Information Age to the Conceptual Age


Daniel Pink



1573223085
Retail Price: $24.95
LS Price: $16.95
You Save: $8.00 (32%)


Availability: Usually ships within 24 hours

Format: Hardcover, 272pp.
ISBN: 9781573223089
Publisher: Riverhead Hardcovers
Pub. Date: March 25, 2005

Average Customer Review:
leadership
leadership

Paperback Edition

leadership

leadership
 
Order This Book!

Add To My Cart

view cart
email friend
 

Secure Order Guarantee

Item No: 9781573223089



leadership
Description and Reviews
From The Publisher:

Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities—inventiveness, empathy, meaning—predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

.
Reviews

"This book is a miracle. On the one hand, it provides a completely original and profound analysis of the most pressing personal and economic issue of the days ahead—how the gargantuan changes wrought by technology and globalization are going to impact the way we live and work and imagine our world. Then Dan Pink provides an equally original and profound and practical guidebook for survial—and joy—in this topsy-turvy environment. I was moved and disturbed and exhilarated all at once. A few years ago, Peter Drucker wondered whether the modern economy would ever find its Copernicus. With this remarkable book, we just may have discovered our Copernicus for the brave new age that's accelerating into being."
—Tom Peters


"Right on the money. . . If Daniel Pink is correct about the 21st-century workforce, then all those college majors that cause parents to grimace (art history? philosophy?) will gain newfound acceptance."
US News and World Report


"Well-researched and delightfully well-written . . . laced with humor and profound insights . . . Pink has done a masterful job using both sides of his brain."
Ft. Worth Star-Telegram


"A very important, convincingly argued, and mind-altering book."
—Po Bronson, author of What Should I Do With My Life?


"Brilliant! Left brain, right brain, whole brain -- I love Dan Pink's brain. Read this book. Even more important, give this book to your children. They need to learn to think like Pink!"
—Alan Webber, Founding Editor of Fast Company


"Wow! This is not a self-help book. It's way more important than that. It's one of those rare books that marks a turning point, once of those books you wish you read before everyone else did. Once again, Dan Pink nails it."
—Seth Godin, author of Purple Cow and Free Prize Inside


"This is not a book about the future. The insightful analysis contained in A Whole New Mind is about what is happening now and what will guide our decisions in the future if we are tuned to it. Others are implementing these ideas now. This effortless read will challenge you to do the same."
—Michael McKinney, LeadershipNow.com


 
readers index
leadership
Reader's Index 
Send us your favorite quotes or passages from this book.

• "The last few decades have belonged to a certain kind of person with a certain kind of mind-computer programmers who could crank code, lawyers who could craft contracts, MBA s who could crunch numbers. But the keys to the kingdom are in changing hands. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind creators and empathizers, pattern recognizers and meaning makers. These people—artists, inventors, designers, storytellers, caregivers, consolers, big picture thinkers—will now reap society's richest rewards and share its greatest joys." Pg. 1


 

leadership
About the Author

Daniel H. Pink is the author of the acclaimed national and international bestseller Free Agent Nation. A contributing editor at Wired magazine, he has written articles and essays for The New York Times, Harvard Business Review, Salon, Slate, Fast Company, and other publications, and has provided analysis of business and social trends on dozens of television and radio programs.



leaders
Table of Contents

Introduction (Excerpt)

1
Part One: The Conceptual Age

1Right Brain Rising7
2Abundance, Asia, and Automation28
3High Concept, High Touch

48
Part Two: The Six Senses

Introduction to the Six Senses65
4Design68
5Story98
6Symphony125
7Empathy152
8Play177
9Meaning

207
Afterword232
Notes235
Acknowledgements252
Index255



leadership
Customer Reviews
Write your own online review.


Find Items On Similar Subjects
A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future • Paperback
Out of Our Minds: Learning to be Creative
Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
The World Is Flat: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century

.
 
leadership
TITLE INDEX: A-K  L-Z | SEARCH | BESTSELLERS | WHAT'S NEW | OUT OF PRINT | HELP | PRIVACY & SECURITY | Leading Blog | LeaderShop Main Page

All prices subject to change and given in U.S. Dollars.

Copyright ©1998-2009 LeadershipNow / M2 Communications, LLC All Rights Reserved


All materials contained in http://www.LeadershipNow.com are protected by copyright and trademark laws and may not be used for any purpose whatsoever other than private, non-commercial viewing purposes. Derivative works and other unauthorized copying or use of stills, video footage, text or graphics is expressly prohibited. LeadershipNow is a trademark of M2 Communications, LLC.
.